Light Painting: When your camera is the canvas

Today I was checking one of my YouTube subscriptions Smarter Every Day, he’s like “Mythbusters” of You Tube, and today’s post was about Light Painting.  Light Painting is essentially using your camera as your canvas and light as your brush.  I’ve heard about light painting and seen a few of my friends post pictures on Facebook doing the same thing, even watched a handful of videos…although I just started to fiddle around with it.

Check out the links below to see (and learn) more

I

Smarter Every Day

As I just mentioned this YouTube channel is one of my favorites, with the perfect blending of educating and entertaining.  This week he worked with light painter Wes Whaley showcases the beauty, and science, of this new artform.  Click on the link under this video to check of Wes Whaley’s Flickr photos.  You won’t be dissapointed.

Check out more work by Wes Whaley HERE
…warning, your mind may be blown 🙂

II

Patrick Rochon & Aurora Crowley

This next video is actually from a web series from PBS, a series called Off Book.  Here Patrick Rochon and Aurora Crowley explain their craft.   Not giving anythign away when I say this, but what makes this video so great for me is that this light painters really stumbled upon a craft and immediately felt a calling to do it…I love the randomness of life.

Leave a Reply

