An Oldie but a Goodie

Every once in a while I’ll post something from my creative past.  It could be awesome. It could be awful.  Either way I just thought it would be fun to share.

When I first started messing around with photoshop, I didn’t really know what I was doing.    I had used Photoshop and similar programs in college to make title graphics or some other image to use in a video production, but I shied away from creating something original.  At the time I was really big into video editing, so I seldom found use for an extensive knowledge of graphics.

So in my post-collegiate life I began tinkering with Photoshop as a means to simply be doing something creative.  What soon followed was a realization that I could get the same satisfaction creating a picture in Photoshop as I did when editing videos in college (and post college).  I found a new creative outlet which,  funnily enough,  started out as merely something to do and soon became a significant part of my “artistic portfolio”.

The three children pictured below are some of my nieces and nephews.(Emma, Lois & Josh)

Here’s the story.  It was Christmas 2007 and I was broke.  Looking to my newly discovered, and equally rudimentary, skills with Photoshop I created these three pictures as a framed set.  Sadly I do not have a picture of the final gift.  My sister-in-law loved it which was a great confidence boost for me, as this was the first time I had ever “designed” somebody a gift before.

It wouldn’t be the last.

 

 

Leave a Reply

